Neutral Pelvis


 

The ideal alignment/placement of the pelvis is in the “neutral” position. Neutral pelvis is when the plane made by the pubic bone and what we call the points of hip are parallel to the floor when lying down or parallel to the wall when sitting, kneeling, or standing.

Those bits well call the points of the hip are actually part of the pelvis and not really part of the hip joint at all. They’re called the ASISs – Anterior Superior Iliac Spines. – and are part of the iliac crest.

The Pelvis is made up of three bones: Two ilia (iliums) and one ischium. The sitz bones are really pointy bits on the bottom of the ischium called the ischial tuberosities.

Lie on your back with your knees bent and in the air, feet hip distance apart.  Place flat, straight hands on your pelvis with the heels of your hands on your hip bones (really the ASIS) and the fingertips reaching for and touching the pubic bone.  You’ve made a triangle with your hands on your belly.

Pick your head up enough to look at your hands and decide if the “table” you’ve made is level to the floor.  Or is it tipping toward your head or your feet.  If the “table” is not level, make adjustments until it is – reach your tailbone down into the floor or tuck your tailbone just a bit.  There should be a some space between your low back and the floor.

This is neutral pelvis or neutral spine.  This is the goal alignment of your spine when doing any exercise or going about your day.  It may be difficult at first to maintain this position, but keep trying!

 

About Laurie Higgins

I play with clicker training - with my horses, dogs, and cats. I also attempt to grow vegetables with the hope of one day being able to feed my family from my garden. My daughter and I are learning ballroom dancing. Well, we were. But she left me for a paying horse job, so now my husband and I are learning ballroom dancing. I'm also now helping Peggy Hogan, of Clicker Training Horses (and The Best Whisper is a Click) to teach people how to train their own horses using "clicker training".
This entry was posted in Fitness, Pilates, Pilates, Riding & Fitness, Riding Fitness, Riding Pilates, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Neutral Pelvis

  1. Sarah says:

    I am definitely going to have to try this. I had three children in just under two and a half years and it’s really taken a toll on my overall alignment. I also do a lot of crouching to get on my kids level when I’m talking to them, so this might take a LOT of concentration on my part. Thanks for the information, maybe it will help 😀

  2. joyce carrick says:

    Hi, this may be a big ask but do u have any advice ? I have a spinal injury resulting in the loss of use in my legs, prior to this i had worked on my posture for over a year.
    Any thoughts gratefully received ,
    Regards joyce

    • Since your comment is attached to the “Neutral Pelvis”, I’m assuming you have use of your pelvis, but not your legs? Could you be more specific as to which part of your posture you’re working on and which parts of your body you don’t have use of? Are you working with a PT or any other health professional?

      When I have more info, I’ll see what I can suggest. It’s hard since I can’t see you and work with you personally.

      Thanks for asking.

Leave a Reply

