Inaugural Ball 2013, Part One


These will be my impressions and thoughts about attending the Presidential Inaugural Ball, January 21, 2013.  They will not necessarily be in any kind of order, but more like rambling thoughts.  Although I have done it chronologically because that makes it easier for me.

To start with, I’m still learning some details of the two Inaugural Balls, such as who the entertainers all were, where the President and First Lady actually were during the balls, and other things.

Getting Tickets

To try to be chronological somewhat, I’ll start with how we ended up deciding to even go.  Initially, we decided not to go – knowing D.C. a little (we worked on Capitol Hill for eight years some time ago) and its inherent traffic problems, what the weather would be like and the temperatures, the hassle of getting appropriate clothing together, logistics of getting there, costs, etc.

Then my husband got an email saying that tickets would be going on sale that day at 4 p.m.  This was January 13, a week out from the Inauguration.  He didn’t actually see that email until about 7:30 p.m. but went ahead and put in a request with no guarantees that he would get tickets.  He did.  We paid $500 each for them, although they were listed at $60 each.  This isn’t to brag.  It’s just the facts.

The tickets said “Black Tie”.  That made me gulp.  I had visions in my head of what that should/would probably mean in terms of elegance and dress required.  Then my husband asked me if I expected him to wear a tuxedo as he was just planning to wear a suit.  I almost started spluttering.  “Yes, of course!  Black Tie means a tux!  What are you thinking?”  It seemed almost instinctive that one dresses up more than “just wearing a suit”.

I knew I needed a “gown” or, at least, a floor-length dress – something that was not in my closet unless you counted my wedding dress and I wasn’t going to wear that, even if I could still get into it.  So I called a friend to see if she could come shopping with me.  I felt that I needed “reinforcements” of sorts for this job.

This is only Part 1.  There is much more to follow.

Link to Part Two:  https://coreconnexxions.wordpress.com/2013/01/22/black-tie-what-does-that-mean-really-inaugural-ball-pt-two/

About Laurie Higgins

I play with clicker training - with my horses, dogs, and cats. I also attempt to grow vegetables with the hope of one day being able to feed my family from my garden. My daughter and I are learning ballroom dancing. Well, we were. But she left me for a paying horse job, so now my husband and I are learning ballroom dancing. I'm also now helping Peggy Hogan, of Clicker Training Horses (and The Best Whisper is a Click) to teach people how to train their own horses using "clicker training".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

